S7 and Ural Airlines to Start 12 Weekly Flights to 3 Iranian Cities

Following the renewed Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between Iran and Russia, the permitted weekly flights between the two countries have now increased to 28. According to the agreement announced by officials, flights are allowed to be operated from the Russian cities of Moscow, St Petersburg, Astrakhan, Kazan, Ufa, Sochi and one additional undisclosed city to the Iranian cities of Tehran, Isfahan, Mashhad, Rasht and three other unknown cities.

The agreement concerns two Russian airlines, S7 Airlines and Ural Airlines.

S7 Airlines has been granted to operate 2 weekly flights each from Moscow to Isfahan and Mashhad. Also, the airline is permitted to operate 3 weekly flights from St Petersburg to Tehran. S7 Airlines operates flights to over 100 destinations and is a member of the oneworld alliance, which could connect Isfahan to the alliance’s global network.

Ural Airlines has likewise been granted to operate flights to Iran as it now is allowed to operate 7 weekly flights from Moscow to Tehran.


Photo: Sergey Kustov